Point Of View

Day 9: A man and a woman walk through the park together, holding hands. They pass an old woman sitting on a bench. The old woman is knitting a small, red sweater. The man begins to cry. Write this scene. Twist: write the scene from three different points of view: from the perspective of the man, then the woman, and finally the old woman.

James’ Mother

We were walking through the park in the morning. It was one of the beautiful days of spring and I felt really peaceful as after a long time James had taken out time for me from work. These past few days he had been very anxious and sullen. He was hiding something from me and I was determined to know what’s bothering him today. It was then that we saw her, an old woman.

She was sitting on a bench and knitting a red sweater. She looked familiar but I couldn’t place her. When we came close to her, I looked at James to ask him if he knew her also and saw that he had tears glistening in his eyes. I was astonished to see them as I know James is a very strong person and in the last few years that I had known him he has never cried in front of me. I looked again at the old woman. Thats when she raises her head and meets my stare in the eye and then I recognize those hazel cat like eyes, just like James.

*****

It had been 2 weeks that I came to know that my mother was still alive and since then I had been looking for her. Sheila was also beginning to suspect that I am hiding something from her. How can I tell her this that my father had lied to me about my mother’s death. Even after 2 weeks, I have not come to believe this. Why did dad do this to me and how can I ask him as he is not here anymore. I have tried and tried to find my mom but she’s not in the asylum where they were keeping her since I was a child. I should tell Sheila about this.

Then I saw an old woman sitting on a bench. Ohh my God!! Can she be my mother for whom I had been looking for her since the past 2 weeks. I can’t believe I have found her. My eyes are so full of hot tears that her face is swimming before me. I still can’t believe I have found her here in the park sitting on a bench knitting a sweater.

*****

I have to knit this for my sweet child. I have been waiting for him for so long. Its been so many years that I saw him, will he recognize me. If they had not kept me in that awful asylum I would have been with my son all this while. How big would he have become, why did he not came to meet me in the asylum. I had to run away from the asylum just to see him. My head hurts and my stomach is growling as its been so many days that I have not had something to eat.

Who is this couple who have been staring at me for so long. The woman is looking at me as if she has not seen an old woman before with curiosity, recognition in her eyes. Does she recognize me, does she know my son. I do have those same eyes. The man looks a bit familiar and he has tears in those eyes, who look at me with astonishment and love. Thats when he wipes the tears away from those hazel catlike eyes that I can recognize anywhere. My son!! He can only be my son.

Thats when everything goes blank and I am absorbed by the darkness.

*****

 

Leave a Reply

