Adjusting to a New Home

Day 11: Tell us about the home where you lived when you were twelve. Which town, city, or country? Was it a house or an apartment? A boarding school or foster home? Who lived there with you? Today’s twist: pay attention to your sentence lengths and use short, medium, and long sentences as you compose your response about the home you lived in when you were twelve.

When I was 12 we had just shifted to our new home. It was a 2 bedroom apartment that my parents had bought with their hard earned money. It was a new experience for me as I was not used to live away from my grandparents (we used to live with them before this). I love them a lot and adjusting to a new place without them was hard for me. My mom tells me I started sleep walking and whenever she caught me opening the front door, I used to tell her that I am going to my grandma and will sleep with her. I had always slept with my grandma before. Even if we came back late in the night, I used to wake up my grandma and sleep with her. So sleeping without her was really hard for a 12 year old me. She used to tell me lots of folk stories or stories of how they came to India during the partition. I used to miss that. But then they came to visit us for a few days and I was so happy.

After listening about my sleepwalking, my grandma helped me sleep normally and also explained to me that she had to be with my Uncle as his kids are really small and need her. And I am a grown girl and can look after myself and my sister. I tried and after almost 3-4 months was successful in sleeping normally. It was hard for us adjusting to a new place as my dad had lived in our previous home all his life. The markets were far away from our place and we didn’t know much about the neighbors. We adjusted and changed our lifestyle a lot to adjust there.

One thing I found soothing was that I didn’t have to change my school. I could go to the same school but the school bus came far from our home. So my dad used to leave us in the morning to our bus stops but we had to trek a long way while coming back. My parents were both working so my sister and me used to stay at a neighbors place till the evening. They were a great couple and that aunty was a great neighbor to us and took care of us a lot. We formed a great bond with her and her husband. They didn’t have any child but we were as good as theirs. We still talk on the phone sometimes although its been years that I have met them. Uncle was such a great painter and he taught us that you can draw anything as long as you have a pen or pencil. You can create anything from anything. He used to create such a great pieces of drawings from anything you give him. We still remember them very fondly.

Those times have taught me and my sis that we can survive anywhere but a home is the only place where we can live peacefully and happily. And its not made of bricks and walls, its made by the people who live in it and the people who live around you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

