Day 2 : A Room with a View

A Room with a View (Or just a View)

We’re all drawn to certain places. If you had the power to get somewhere — anywhere — where would you go right now? For your twist, focus on building a setting description.

This is an interesting opportunity to explore where I have always wanted to go since I started reading Harry Potter:

Hogwarts!!

Hogwarts

I also want to go there as a student and learn magic. I want to discover all those places that I have read about in Harry Potter.

Going there by Hogwarts express, then crossing the Great Lake in boats with Hagrid, getting my first look at the castle just like an 11-year-old wizard.

The Great hall where they have all the meals, where all those candles float during the feast and when its Halloween, they have all those pumpkins having a candle each in them which gives them an eerie look and all those live bats flying around and those ghosts floating around the hall, whitish and almost invisible.

Then I want to explore all those moving staircases. How they change direction on a particular day or how you have to skip some particular step otherwise your leg would sink in it. I want to check out all those dormitories that the students sleep in. All of those towers of all the houses Gryffindor, Slytherin, Hufflepuff and Ravenclaw. Although J K Rowling took us to 3 houses’ common room through her books but Hufflepuff was left so I really want to visit it. Check out where all the house members rest, complete their homework, celebrate their victories.

I also want to visit the kitchens where all those elves work and prepare those tasty dishes that are always mentioned in the books. I want to try those dishes (I am a big foodie 😉 ). I want to meet all those elves and appreciate them for all the hard work they do so others can lead a hassle free life.

I would love to explore the Hogwarts grounds, Hagrid’s hut (although his dog looks so big in the movies), the Quidditch Pitch (I would love to fly on a broomstick, although I saw an interview of Daniel Radcliffe where he said that its very painful on a broomstick, but still flying would be a great experience just like paragliding) and also that Forbidden Forest. All those scary monsters that reside in the forest. I want to see a Centaur and ask them my future although I am doubtful if they’ll tell me that. 😉

I want to visit the Hogsmeade village also. All those shops there like Honeydukes (all those sweets like sugar quills, chocolates of all flavors, fudges, even cockroach cluster), Shrieking Shack (want to see how much destruction Moony did), Gladrags Wizardwear (what type of clothes these wizards wear, do they have purple cloaks? 😉 ), Dervish and Bangs (what type of magical items do they have I wonder), Zonko’s Joke shop ( I want to check out those tricks and jokes, It’ll be so much fun there, don’t you think), the local post office (all those different types of owls), The Three Broomsticks ( I want to try the butterbeer and the mulled mead) and finally the Hog’s Head (just to meet Aberforth, Dumbledore’s brother).

Hogsmeade

I know they have replicated the Hogwarts in Universal Studios, Orlando, US. I would really love to visit that whenever I get the opportunity to visit US. Experiencing what I have always imagined, will be like a dream come true.

2 thoughts on “Day 2 : A Room with a View

Leave a Reply

