New Year Resolutions

Daily Prompt :: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/great-expectations/

Tell us about one thing (or more) that you promised yourself you’d accomplish by the end of the year. How would you feel once you do? What if you don’t?

Back when the New Year was approaching, I thought, as always, to make a list of new year resolutions but was not sure whether they will be fulfilled or not as i usually forget my resolutions by the mid of the year. But I still made a list of resolutions to have accomplished till the year-end and I started the year with Great Expectations.

I thought this year was going to be the year when everything changed, and I’ll emerge a different and better person. But half the year has almost passed and I hope I am somewhere near to my achieving those goals. At least, they are going the way I want.

My first and foremost goal was to lose weight but I am nowhere to losing it then I was on that day that I made this resolution. Although I have started swimming from today (I love swimming but wasn’t able to do it coz of time management issues). So, maybe that goal can still be achieved. Lets see how that goes as I am doing the thing that I love, even if I don’t lose weight I won’t be unhappy.

Another one of my goal was to still be single by the end of the year. I can satisfactorily say that I have so far been able to achieve this. As an Indian girl of 24 years of age, my parents and relatives expect me to get married and get settled with my new family. But I think that I need a few more years to gain more knowledge and experience of this world, so that when I get married I can fulfill all my responsibilities with proper care and love that is needed for an institution like marriage. Though, I have explained this to my parents, but they think, I’ll learn in time when that situation happens. Lets see, this is something I believe that has already been decided for me by my destiny, so everything will happen in its own time.

Another one of my goal was to do well in my career, to take it in a good direction so that I can be independent financially and wont have to depend on others. This goal would take time to accomplish, but thankfully I am happy that its taking the shape, I want it to take.

In the end, I believe that everything happens for the good, even if we think that it’s not going the way we wanted. So achieving your goal gives you immense satisfaction but we should not be disappointed when we are not able to achieve them after giving our best.

To quote a quote from Harry Potter movies,

“Things that really belong to us have a way of coming back to us, even if they are not in the way we wanted.”

 

 

8 thoughts on “New Year Resolutions

  1. www.google.com says:

    I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well
    as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?
    Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to
    see a great blog like this one today.

Leave a Reply

